African Parenting

I just remembered something during my childhood days, and it really was humorous to recall it, though at that time, it wasn’t funny at all. I was around 12 years, money was missing in the house, am sure my younger brother took it! πŸ˜‚ He was always stealing stuff from the house. Anyway, our aunt called us and asked for the culprit to confess in order to receive mercy! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ How convinient! My brother never confesses his atrocities πŸ€·β€β™‚οΈ
Am always bearing the burden of his bad behaviour, talk of being the first born. Anyway, my aunt asked us to undress, stark naked in order to receive our punishment πŸ™„
Eish! My stress levels had already risen up. I freaked out cause I was afraid of being whipped. No, an African parent BEATS! πŸ˜’πŸ˜‚
My heart was thumping and racing up and down, when thè whip fell on my young skin 😭
Of course what followed was my loud screams as auntie alternated the whip between me and bro. When things got too hot to withstand, I just rushed out naked to the next roomπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
Mind you, at that time, we were living in rental house that had other tenants. So we had two rooms, one consisted of our bedroom and sitting room πŸ€·β€β™‚οΈ
While the other room was our parents bedroom and kitchen, while a veranda was in between the rooms, that led to other tenants rooms! Am proud of my humble upbringing. So you can imagine what was happening, when the whip became unbearable, I would just rush out to the other room, and my aunt would follow me running
πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ™„
I wish I had the bravery to rush out, but I couldn’t, I was incapacitated by my nakedness πŸ™„πŸ˜
I was a child then but well, kids understand this stuff. So when my brother saw that my aunt was unrelenting in the punishment course, bro fled out of the house naked πŸ™„πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
I wish I could follow but mehnπŸ‘‹πŸ˜‚
Well, auntie was double angry because my bro run away, and of course I got double punishment 😒
Yani, auntie hit me until my body became numb. Couldn’t feel any pain. But because she’s an African parent, I dare not stop crying cause she will think that I am rude, and I don’t want her to kill meπŸ˜‚πŸ˜­ bitter sweet moment.
So after auntie was done with whipping me, was asked to shower, mehn, the sting was itching and what not.
About bro, I don’t know who gave him shorts πŸ˜‚ but he didn’t come home until he spotted mum coming from work. So they came along, as he told mum what happened to us. πŸ˜‚
Mum was super angry, not that she’s against discipline, nah but there’s a difference between punishment to correct and abuse. My aunt would have killed me. And mum just told her, ” wait until you get children, am very sure you won’t be beating them like you did with mine.”
True to mum’s word, those auntie’s that made us eat dustπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ , it’s just a word expression that means, ‘one who makes you suffer’ not literal dust eatingπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
Final word, I am not even allowed to pinch my cousins πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
#Started writing again after many years
#Yes it’s a true story
FB_IMG_1569511430157

2 thoughts on “African Parenting”

Leave a comment